Big Time Rush in Birmingham 19.06.24

We all know I’m a sucker for a boyband right? Especially a good looking American boy band? (Not that I actually have a type, but it does help! 🙂 )

So Big Time Rush announced a few months ago that they were coming back to the UK…

The picture above was from 12 years ago when I went down to London for the Elevate listening party! It was such a fun day! So obviously I had to make sure I was at the tour. Luckily, my friend Rachel wanted to go (as it fell on her birthday).

Tickets were booked but unfortunately on the day, Rachel wasn’t well so I had to go by myself. There were a few people I knew that were going so it wasn’t like I was going to be alone.

Seeing them at the 02 Academy gave it that little bit of intimacy – only other people I’ve been to see there have been Aston Merrygold, Dua Lipa, Cian Ducrot and Bullet for my Valentine (I’m sure there’s probably more but that’s all I can remember right now.) I was front row of the balcony centre stage so I had a fantastic view.

Spencer Sutherland was the support act – I’d heard about him from a friend of mine and I’d given him a listen but reserved my thoughts until I’d seen him live. The vocal range? INSANE! The dress sense? YAAASSSSSS!!! (green pinstripe co-ord, white boots and a pearl necklace!) the dancing? Definitely was giving me Mick Jagger vibes.

Anyway BTR – 23 songs they treated us too! We had songs from across all of the albums, including the new single ‘Only One’ (which is really catchy and will have you singing it straight away!) They each picked a girl from the crowd for ‘Worldwide’ and finished the show with ‘Boyfriend’, which we were all screaming at the tops of our voices!

The boys might have grown up but those vocals still sound as brilliant as ever! Oh and they might have let it slip that they’re coming back…next year…for a worldwide tour! Plus I think they even said they would go and use arenas instead of the smaller venues. I don’t think their management was expecting the turnout for Birmingham. When I was waiting in the queue there was easily 150 for VIP and that was split into gold and silver levels. The VIPs also took up the first 4 rows of the standing area (and that’s a large area).

So yeah it was nice to see them back. If you get a chance to go see them then do it! You won’t regret it! Let’s just keep everything crossed that they announce that new tour sooner rather than later.

Leave a comment