A mix of Disney & theatre

So last weekend I made a very long overdue trip to London to get in my dose of musical theatre, as well as fitting in a visit to the Disney 100 exhibition at the Excel Centre.

Honestly I took SO many pictures! I was in my absolute element. The whole exhibition shows how Disney all started, how Walt’s dreams expanded, how the films were made – the animation, the music, the mechanics. There were also small sections on Star Wars and Marvel, as well as a whole area regarding the parks!! They had a mini version of Sleeping Beauty’s castle with the fireworks going off behind! Not going to lie, it all made me just a little bit emotional. I’ve loved everything to do with Disney ever since I’ve been little. So this was the perfect exhibition for me to attend.

Straight after that, I headed off to Shaftesbury Theatre to see Mrs Doubtfire! Obviously the film was a massive part of my childhood and Robin Williams was someone who I was devastated by the loss of.

Gabriel Vick, who plays Daniel Hillard, is the perfect person to step into the role. He is an extremely good impressionist and the comedy within this musical comes thick and fast. The costume change where Daniel is made into Mrs Doubtfire by his brother Frank and his husband, Andre (played by X-Factor star Marcus Collins) is done perfectly and flows throughout the song.

The music is all original songs composed for this version and there are hints of the film – an example is the scene where Daniel is with the court officer and she asks if he has any talents and he replies ‘I do voices’ or the scene where Daniel hits Stu with a piece of fruit and he says ‘It was a run by fruiting.’

This is definitely a musical that I will end up seeing numerous times – my mum has already said she wants to go and see it!

Leave a comment